Auto GP World Series

Auto GP World Series

Auto GP was previously known as the Euroseries 3000 and also Euro Formula 3000. It refers to series of European formula racing, whose roots are traced to back in 1999. During the early stages after formation of the series, they held almost all the races in Italy. Later on, the venues increased to cover several countries in Europe after expansion of the series.

Auto GP World Series

Auto GP World SeriesIn 2001 is when the series acquired the name Formula 3000. However, in 2004 the title of the series was changed to Superfund. This change occurred with the aim of coming up with a new car. The new car was to possess a set of new regulations and a new name too, Formula Superfund. Unfortunately the plan was cancelled before completion due to withdrawal of funds.

Coloni Motorist chipped in and came up with championship for Italian national-level in 2005. This championship was established under the former name of Italian Formula 3000. Later, in the year 2006 an expansion was made by Coloni to this championship, and they gave the new series the name Euroserie’s 3000.

During the year 2010, the championship was branded the name Auto GP. A company in Netherlands by the name ISRA was the first to test the workability of the Auto GP World Series. Additionally, this company established the Series called 2014 FA1; however the two broke up shortly.

The year 2012 marked the fourteenth season of Euroseries 3000 that was there previously. This year also, is when the Auto GP series saw its third year. On March 11th, the championship took off in Italy at a place known as Monza. Later, it ended on 23rd September in the United States, at a place called Sonoma. The championship included seven rounds of double-header from start to completion.

Auto GP World SeriesIn 2014, the championship took place in Morocco, a place called Marrakech from 13th April. The rounds here were eight double-header; and ended at the Autodromo do Estoril on 19th October.During the following year that is 2015, the championship started at Hungaroring from 2nd May.

Later, it ended at the Circuit de Barcelona, Catalunya after completing six rounds of double-header. Afterwards, there was a plan for a deal to cooperate with ISRA Company, in order for Auto GP to get more cars. However, ISRA failed to remain committed and in return Auto GP withdrew.

The year 2016 was the Auto GP’s seventh year, and Euroserie’s seventeenth season. On 9th April was when the championship kicked off at Misano, scheduled to accomplish six double-header rounds. The completion was to take place in Mugello on 16th October.

In contrast, during the first round it happened that all single-seater cars were involved in the championship. Additionally, they merged the Auto GP with the Boss GP series. Several drivers of the Auto GP resolved to move on with Boss GP championship activity.


Auto GP has set an amazing record among all the single-seaters known. It is the only one that managed to participate in races in the continents of America, Africa and Europe. All these results are attributed to persistent participation and commitment in championships over the years.