Super Nova Racing FIA F3000 History Return to HomepageHomepage

The FIA International Formula 3000 Championship was created in 1985 as the final graduation category for drivers before entering Formula One. The championship has consistently produced the emerging F 1 talent and the majority of the Formula One grid today consists of ex Formula 3000 racers.

The Formula became a marketplace for specialist chassis manufacturers with Reynard, Lola, Ralt and March enjoying series success in the category's ten year history. Teams also had to carefully consider their choice of engine as manufacturers vied for the market share.

1996 saw the start of a new era, this was the first time in the series history where the one-make chassis and engine policy had been adopted. In the year 2001, every competitor will be driving a Lola T99/50 powered by a Zytek V8 engine, using Avon tyres.

Championship points are scored by the first six drivers across the line in each race on a 10 - 6 - 4 - 3 - 2 - 1 basis, with all of the ten rounds counting towards the driver's end of season championship total.

In 2001, there will be an entry list of 15 teams, 30 cars, qualifying will be held on Friday before the race day with two 45-minute sessions. The fastest overall 26 drivers from the two sessions will qualify for the 150km race in accordance with the Formula 3000 regulations.

All 12 events of the 2001 Championship will be run exclusively for the third season running as a Formula One Grand Prix support race starting in Interlagos, Imola, Barcelona, Spielberg , Monaco, Nurbugring, Magny Cours, Silverstone, Hockenheim, Hugaroring, Spa Francorchamps and Monza.

2000 Bruno Junqueira Petrobras Junior Team
1999 Nick Heidfeld West Competition
1998 Juan Pablo Montoya Super Nova Racing
1997 Ricardo Zonta Super Nova Racing
1996 Jorg Muller RSM Marko
1995 Vincenzo Sospiri Super Nova Racing
1994 Jean-Christophe Boullion DAMS
1993 Olivier Panis DAMS
1992 Luca Badoer Crypton
1991 Christian Fittipaldi Pacific Racing
1990 Erik Comas DAMS
1989 Jean Alesi Eddie Jordan Racing
1988 Roberto Moreno Bromley Motorsport
1987 Stefano Modena Onyx
1986 Ivan Capelli Genoa
1985 Christian Danner BSA

2000 Super Nova Racing
1999 West Competition

Return to HomepageHomepage