Super Nova Racing Home Page
Go to the GP2 Website
Go to the GP2 Asia Website
Go to the Auto GP Website


  • Home
  • GP2 Series
  • GP2 Asia Series
  • Auto GP Series
  • Contact
  • GP2 Final | Yas Marina


Super Nova Racing is one of the most successful teams in international motor sport.

Founded by David Sears and Nozumo Saruhashi in 1991 to contest in the All-Japan Formula 3 Championship. Building on the success the team soon moved into the international arena of European Formula 3000.

In 1994, Super Nova dominated the season, with drivers Taki Inoue and Vincenzo Sospiri, title contenders until the final round. It was the following year they stylishly claimed first and second place in the championship, with Sospiri and Ricardo Rosset, scoring nearly 3 times as many points as the second place team!

Over the next ten years, Super Nova won the F3000 Championship a record four times setting just about every other record in the series along the way, with more poles, podiums and wins than any other team in the Championship’s 20-year history.

Following the sad demise of F3000 in 2004, Super Nova were one of just 12 teams invited by the FIA to campaign in the exciting new F1-feeder series, GP2. In 2005 the team finished an impressive third place in the opening season, with Giorgio Pantano and Adam Carroll, and have continued to be competitive since.

Many of our drivers have gone on to race not only in Formula One, but in America too, where excellent relations with top IRL and Champ Car teams are still maintained. The team also harbour strong connections with many F1 teams, previously running as the junior team to Benetton, Renault, Williams, Jordan and, most recently, BAR.

Today Super Nova compete in both the GP2 Main and GP2 Asia Series continuously performing to a very high and professional standard, forever striving to get the very best out of every member of staff, driver and car.